Living my dream

By Mima

Same bucket…

…different crop.

The broad beans are wonderful. This is only the third pick and there are masses to come. All of these will be blanched and frozen once they’re podded.

I’m fighting fit again after the Saturday night glitch, and I’ve spent the day catching up on some of the lost time.

Those artichokes and cardoons were all cooked in a water, lemon and bay leaf mix, then peeled, halved and put into a jar with a marinade of olive oil, apple cider vinegar, garlic and chilli flakes. They look great, but I’ll try to leave them a few days in the fridge before I dip in. See the extra.

I’ve made a feta which will drain overnight in the fridge, and should be ready to eat about the same time as those artichoke hearts. A nice coincidence….

Outdoors everything remains damp after days of evening showers, but I was able to do a bit of tidying up here and there.

And I’ve planted two melon plants outdoors, in the pile of two-year-old compost. They ought to be happy there. There are a couple growing in the tunnel as well, in case they prefer higher temperatures.

A much better day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.