Living my dream

By Mima

Bucket-loads

Well, 13 actually. Not 13 buckets.13 globe artichokes and cardoons.

Cardoons are smaller and have spikier leaves. Traditionally cardoon flower heads weren’t eaten, in favour of their stems. But I prefer to use them like globe artichokes.

It’s quite a lot for one girl.

I shall cook them then preserve the hearts in a vinegar and oil marinade. They don’t keep for very long, even in the fridge, but at least I’ll get a week or two to eat them.

The extra shows the cardoon and artichoke ‘trees’ before I picked them, in front of the cabbage tree, which they are almost mimicking. I had to use telescopic loppers to cut the flower heads: they are far above my head.

Other than that it’s been an unusually quiet day following an upset stomach last night (me, not Bean). I’ve snoozed a lot and caught up on some of the lost sleep. I’ve just happily eaten some scrambled eggs, so I’m on the mend.

Bean snoozed alongside me. Both of us were under blankets. She’s taught me well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.