Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Snow and ice

Last night we had snow and as it is so cold it has not melted. Today actually felt a couple of degrees warmer than yesterday before the snow arrived. I am feeling much better today and enjoyed my walk with Xena in the snowy woods, the snow seemed to make the dogs a little crazy and there were many chasing games with every dog we met. In the extras you can see her natural coat looks so much darker due to the white snow. This is the large pond which has frozen, I cannot remember when I last saw it frozen all the way across like this. It looks frozen solid but as we heard on the news about the three boys who drowned in the icy waters of a lake near Birmingham, you can never be sure how thick the ice is.

It seems there has been snow in most places across the country, even in London last night. Cambridge had a lot of snow yet Adam still cycles to the lab, I do worry about those icy roads when he is on his bike. Poor Tommy is freezing in his room at university. Due to the increase in energy costs the university advised the students that they would not be increasing the cost of accommodation, but instead they would turn the heating down to save costs - so today his room is 14.5 C which is not comfortable for studying in. He says he is so wrapped up in blankets and layers of clothes to try to keep warm. It is not like their accommodation cost is cheap, so I don't think it's a great solution.

I had to contact John Lewis today as I have not had a refund for a returned item. Usually they are very good at doing refunds within a few days of a return, but as it has been over two weeks I contacted them and it seems the refund got lost in their system somewhere, so just as well I contacted them. I have proof of the return so it was not a problem and they will issue my refund in the next five days. At this time of year with everyone shopping for Christmas I suppose they get overwhelmed. 

Tonight I have my camera club Christmas dinner at a nice pub restaurant. It's a cold night to be going out but I am sure the evening will be enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.