New gloves

My new gloves arrived today.

They are super duper.

They’re not the prettiest of gloves, but I got them to be functional, not pretty. They’re actually for running in, although I think my hands would boil if I tried running in them.

They’re fingerless glove-mittens: not only do they have a hood for the fingers, but they also have a hood for the thumb. This is very important because it means I can keep my fingers and thumbs warm in between the clumps of parkrunners and parkwalkers wanting a finish token – actually, everyone who comes through the finish funnel gets a token whether they want one or not. Everyone, that is, except children in pushchairs and dogs – while being able to manipulate the tokens when the clumps of parkrunners and parkwalkers finish.

But won’t these flappy hoods be annoying? Nope: they’ve thought of that. The finger hood tucks into a pouch, and the thumb hood is held in place with magnets. Magnets!

I can’t wait for parkrun so I can try them out. That’s not till Saturday, though. Henry’s windscreen was crystallised with ice this evening, so I put the gloves on to scrape the ice off. My hands always freeze when I do this without gloves. The gloves stopped them from freezing.

I kept them on to drive, but bare-fingered. My fingertips were a bit cold, but once I got out the car and flipped the flaps, my fingertips felt cosy.

So far, so good.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.