On black ice

Woke this morning to  -6C and the driveway a sheet of black ice.
 
A quick phone call to our local hardware store revealed  they had just sold out of salt, all 14 bags,  and they didn’t know when he would be getting more in. Tomorrow afternoon maybe…no, it’s not possible to   reserve any.
 
Well, plans for today had to be quickly abandoned- no Christmas lunch with the aqua aerobics crowd, no trip to the cinema to see “Living”.
 
OK I am a wimp. After all it’s only a bit of ice. But at times like this memories of rolling M’s car on black ice some years ago come back.
 
It was over in Fife and some passing hunters heard the bang as the car somersaulted and landed upside down on the road. They rescued me by smashing the windscreen with their guns. I crawled out with just a few scratches on my wrist. Phew!
 
(M had only had the car six months…)
 
And there is another reason. I now possess two artificial knees and one hip so I am super careful on black ice.
 
At this rate I could be going into hibernation….
 
 PS M did manage to find some salt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.