Pileus Clouds from the summit of Helvellyn

This only works large on Black!

Another incredibly cold day, -6 outside the house, -10 on top of Helvellyn.

Crampons, spikes, Ice-Axes etc all packed, (I forgot what a strain winter walking is on the back), my winter mountaineering boots back on my feet, and we were climbing the lower slopes by 8.30. Reached the top a little after 10, where we were treated to cloud inversions, snow, these clouds (which I'm reliably informed are Pileous clouds) - everything! 

Another stunning day - we added Raise to Helvellyn just to totally knacker ourselves. After over 11 miles yesterday, we managed almost the same (10.7) today but as winter mountain walking. Almost dark when we got home, and a long soak in bath salts to ease the pain.

Another 300 photo day - more on Flickr

Again, many, many thanks for all of your wonderful comments and faves on yesterday's Blip - the weather is being kind to me at the moment. I'm sure it can't last, but I'll certainly make the most of it while I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.