Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Contrasts in the freezer

I'm just back from the last choir practice before our Carol Service on Sunday, held in the church to remind everyone what it's like with the organ, where the temperature outside was -2.5ºC and inside was +2.5ºC and we were all dressed like Nanook of the North in woolly hats (carefully pushed up off our ears), duvet jackets and coats, boots, and - in my case anyway - Rohan's admirable padded winter trousers which make the difference between hypothermia and living to sing again ... And the first thing I see when I look online is that Blipper Lady Findhorn  was in swimming this morning and I wonder if maybe we each have our own lunacies foibles.

My extra photo was taken in the car park of the church before the rehearsal, because it always looks impossibly picturesque and gorgeous at night. I had difficulty getting any more photos, because Himself was anxious to get home and I that he shouldn't make the automatic lights come on but rather loiter in the porch while I tried to photograph the stars and - suddenly - the wonderful red half-disc of the moon appearing above the Firth below us. But my main photo shows what the day - or at least the morning - was like, for it was beautiful: thick, crunching frost, blue sky, pockets of fog emerging from the Central Belt and dancing like smoke over the water and draping itself in swathes just below the summit ridge over the Holy Loch. I was out, briefly - put a prescription request in to the surgery and bought what felt like a ton of potatoes but was in fact a 2.5kg bag. As I walked up the hill with it I reflected on the burden placed on knees and hips by even a slight weight gain and resolved not to go there...

And that's it, really. We had an annoying afternoon waiting for a man to come and inspect our poorly gas fire, only for him to arrive after 5pm, tell us there were all sorts of things about it that didn't meet current regs, and depart again. I'm not happy, but I'm distracted by nicer things and will leave things to Himself. I may loose the heid. 

Now I'm starving, and am off to consume toast and maybe a piece of cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.