Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Of strong women and a sunset

If it's Monday it must be Pilates ... Actually on Saturday morning I felt so poorly that I didn't think I'd be going, but I stopped taking my statins as an experiment for these last two days and tiring, racking cough that was part of the problem has almost vanished. I suspect one of the "other ingredients" in the tablets (a different manufacturer from before) is to blame: I shall speak to the pharmacist tomorrow. Anyway, Pilates it was - the usual great blethers followed by the most arduous class of the season so far. That moment when you're asked to balance, as it were, on the point of your behind with your legs and torso forming two arms of a V ... We were all grunting (down my end anyway) and laughing, when we'd got our breath back. Apparently this marks us out as strong women, this ability to laugh at ourselves; anyway, I felt quite proud.

The rest of the day involved rescuing the (new) bird table which was knocked over in last night's wind and was rather coming to bits (I've weighted its bottom down with a bag of big stones). And then I had to post the two parcels I expected to have to send off - in the hope that tomorrow doesn't bring any horrid new restrictions that would keep us from being Santa with family on the 25th. I walked round the long way afterwards, though I felt I was beginning to stiffen up a bit, and was rewarded with views of the most fantastic sunset clouds. I was torn between blipping a picturesque view of the Firth with the varied shades of pink and orange, but settled instead for a photo which shows some of the older part of Dunoon, looking down through the narrow streets towards the town centre and the High Kirk. I love the name on the right of the hairdresser that I think makes/made wigs: Aff Yer Heid is perfect.

I'm beginning to listen to the news with a much more critical ear these days. For example, Johnson said that someone had died "with Omicron". We're meant to hear "of" in there, and rush off for a booster - though for avoidance of any doubt, I'm triple-jagged and masked and hostile to infringers. But see politics?

Stay safe, dear blippers - you're a sanity resource!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.