Living my dream

By Mima

To jump, or not to jump?

Before you get too alarmed, she’s sensible enough to stay put.

We had a beautiful summery walk around Kakanui Point with friends at lunchtime. We stopped here, overlooking Campbells Bay where there were a handful of surfers out on the water: the dots on the water.

As we watched we spotted a trio of (the nationally vulnerable) Hector’s Dolphins surfing with the humans in the breaking waves. It’s a common occurrence at this spot. It is a wonderful sight, but there was no chance of a photo using my phone.

I enjoyed this view everyday when I lived next to Campbells Bay during my first year in North Otago. I rented a crib there while I worked out where and what I wanted to buy. While I love to visit Kakanui, I’m very happy to live inland on my idyllic acre of rural land, far far away from the holidaying crowds that flock to the coast.

Bean had a great walk with heaps of new smells, dogs and people. We got home early afternoon to find it was 27C, and cooler indoors than out. So we have both behaved a bit like sloths.

I found time to pick (and then eat) the first 50g of the raspberries. Yum!

And so the summer craziness begins… I picked Bean’s weight-and-a-bit in raspberries last year. I’m bracing myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.