Fire and Ice / Blue Bayou

The woods are mine now, and with the temperatures dipping, there is ice to be had, so let's go! A walk into my little corner of the Scotia Barrens on this cold morning brought me to my favorite little pond, where a layer of ice is starting on top of things.

The ice is at that active stage where it is forming and reforming, as the temperatures go up and down. But hey, finally, there is WATER here and we are celebrating. There is so much to see in such a tiny space. And so I am down on my knees by the water with my camera, peering this way and that. Ice on top, plenty of shine. And leaves below.

These are my two favorite ice abstracts. The one above has a bunch of colors at the middle of it that I honestly have no idea where they came from. The purples and pinks were a gift of the day, I guess. In the extra, we have a symphony of golds and blues, plus a reflection of trees.

My typical process, as I edit my photos, is to pick a bunch of favorites and put those on Facebook, then pick out just a few and put them on Instagram, then pick one or two for Blipfoto. :-) Y'all only get the best of the best! :-)

I did a little photo show for my husband of all the ice shots before bedtime, and we named them, as I put just a few on Instagram. Sometimes my photos are born with names, and the name happens the instant I SEE the shot; sometimes the naming comes later.

The one up top is called Fire and Ice, and I'll bet you can see where this is heading, songbirds. ;-) I let my husband name the one in the extras (I think it was HIS fave), and he says it should be called Blue Bayou. No, this is central Pennsylvania, and we're not anywhere near a bayou, but it most assuredly is BLUE. And gold. And shiny as the sun!

These two named images give me the opportunity to showcase two of my favorite songbirds. First is Pat Benatar, with Fire and Ice. Second is Linda Ronstadt, with Blue Bayou. (Here's a bonus version by Roy Orbison and an entourage of other greats!) What the heck, skip the pictures, turn the lights off, close your eyes, and just LISTEN TO THESE PEOPLE SING!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.