Kriah

Late last night got an invitation to a carols and nibbles get-together at Florence and Ersin's at midday today, so this morning, got up, made rich almond and orange pastry, made (sort of) mincemeat, and then made mince pies (which were rather good, if I do say so myself). Eileen surprised us all, accompanying our singing on an accordion, by ear. Impressive.

Took some photos I love of their gorgeous house, but this one will remind me of the day more, in spite of the blurriness. It was a fun time, and we met two couples for the first time - one Portuguese (who'd lived in Canada), the other English.

Today from Darkling:
Talking about kriah, the ancient Jewish custom of tearing your clothing as soon as someone was given the news of the death of a loved one - the rending of a garment echoing the rending of the soul.

Gideon contrasts this with the British mantra of 'keep calm and carry on', which can be admirable or even necessary. But...

Wounds must be allowed to speak.

If it is too much to keep calm and carry on, then don't...

The healing will come, eventually, but not if we show a stiff upper lip to that which must be healed. You cannot process what you do not express.

God of our wounds,
Help me to be unafraid to make my kriah.
Help me to let my wounds speak.
Help me to see that the first step to healing can be tearing.


Gratefuls:
- lots more heavy rain; each day the Lake rises, so relieved!
- singing carols; think it's the first time we've done that in the seven years we've been here
- Florence and Ersin's warm hospitality

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.