Bobbing Oranges

Attempting to get our Portuguese driving licenses again, as "the system" has basically ignored us for so long that all the medicals have long expired. The clinic in Évora for Mike's psycho-technic rang to cancel as we were getting ready, but we still had eye tests in Reguengos. 

As you can see, it continues to rain, heavily at times and accompanied by strong winds, every drop welcome.

From Darkling:
(Gideon talks about wanting to escape this world.) But now I am not so desperate for the elsewhere heaven. Now I pour my life into looking to the heaven that is here... Nietzsche said that if you do not find eternity here, you are probably not going to find it anywhere else. ... 

Do something that is here. Something that is life. Because heaven is here. Heaven is life. It is good. And it is unbearable. It is unbearable. And it is good.

Make your own list of things that ground you in this world. Things that are here, now, that fill your cup.


My list:
- cuddling my grandkids
- dancing forró 
- singing (loudly) in church
- eating sliced avocado on toast, with crunchy onions
- an Alentejano wine in a fine glass
- reading a good book in bed
- watching "The Chosen"
- filling jars with hot marmalade
- swimming in the Lake
- walking by the sea, barefoot
- seeing sunshine making rainbows from Jan's crystals
- sinking my fingers into our cats' thick fur
- listening to a good sermon
- capturing beauty with my camera
- and then Blipping it!

...and so much more!

(I also made an alphabetical list of my "dis-asters" - anything that has disorientated me, in the last couple of years. Try it, it helps to spell them out.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.