Flossmo

By Flossmo

Getting ahead

This morning we drove down to The Maltings to watch Emily, a fictionalised account of the life of Emily Bronte. Before the film started a man came around with blankets because it was so cold in the auditorium. We declined as we anticipated the cold and had our big coats on but some of the patrons accepted. The new normal, I guess. 

At the end of the film Mr Flossmo commented that as well as the lack of Yorkshire accents, incessant rain and  endless dishwashing the film was quite simply a load of tosh; and that was after having napped through some of it. I have to say I quite enjoyed it, more for its cinematography than the story per se. Chacun à son goût, I say.

We had lunch in the Maltings cafe - a delicious chickpea, butternut squash and lentil curry for me - before yomping over to the Nationwide Building Society on the other side of Farnham. Closed for the 14th of December said the sign in the window. We yomped back. On the way past the Phyllis Tuckwell Hospice charity shop I saw the 'musical' head. If it had been for sale I would have bought it but it was modelling a scarf.

We then drove over to Currys in Farnborough, took a deep breath and bought a Dyson Cyclone V10 stick vacuum cleaner. Whilst we were out and about we called in Dunelm and bought a couple of new pillows. That's Christmas presents for us well and truly sorted.

Back home I had a quick cup of tea before joining my creative writing group. I hadn't written anything new this week so dug out and old poem about Christmas. I think the group were suitably entertained.


Mr Flossmo has just assembled the Dyson and we have had a test run. All good so far. Does this mean I will be doing more cleaning... or less?    

 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.