Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Precise pricing and old-fashioned pub

I bit a long-threatened bullet and got myself an early Christmas present of a new iPad. I needed to get an adapter to be able to use my headphones with the new machine and had a collection to make anyway, so I headed over to Airside and Harvey Norman's. I wandered around the furniture section before heading in to Electronics. That's when I spotted this cushion with a strangely precise price displayed on its tag. Seems a bit strange to add that weird single cent on after the €35 …

Harvey Norman's was in the early afternoon. I had time for a bit of a lie-down when I got home and then headed over to Carl's place to meet up before going to Michael's restaurant in Mount Merrion. It's a place that we'd long threatened to visit because of rave reviews it's got. We ended up rather disappointed. The serving staff were abrupt and unfriendly, which might be forgivable if the place had been busy, but it wasn't. We'd asked them to delay our starter until we'd finished out cocktails but they misunderstood and brought them anyway. As it turned out, the starters were the best part of the evening. Our main courses and desserts were average at best, and the main portions were too large. We wouldn't hurry back.

Our booking was for 8:15, so we had time for an aperitif in Kennedy's, a pub close by (extra). The Argentina-Croatia World Cup semi-final was blaring from several TV sets and the sound was even piped into an area that looked as if it might be a bit quieter. The place itself is basic, to say the least. One pint was more than enough before we left for the restaurant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.