This'n'That

By Nanzy19

A Special Gift

Last night we had dinner with some of our favourite people, our NITEP family. It was absolutely wonderful to reconnect with former students and their families. So many kind words were said about me - I felt very honoured and humbled. Among the gifts I was given was this incredible button blanket. At the top is a strip of cloth with wolves depicted. Richard, the husband of Joann who made the blanket for me, is from the wolf clan. They belong to the Heiltsik Nation (Bella Bella on the west coast of BC).
Joann said, "We believe the eagle blanket was meant for you. The eagle is part of our clan and represents strength, protection and healing." I felt enveloped in love and strength as she pinned the blanket on me and hugged me. I wore the blanket for the entire evening and had a hard time taking it off at the end. My husband said that my hair reminds him of the head of the bald eagle!
For different views of the blanket, click here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.