Waiting for the warm-up!

Not so cold last night - my new digital thermometer showed a low of -2.5 degrees. (Ignore the readings - I'd been playing with it!) Still pretty nippy though, but nothing like some of the temperatures we suffered in the old days. I think 1976 or 7 was particularly bad when we went down to something like - 22. I remember a large, mature Eucalyptus gunnii at Ross Priory being severely damaged with all the branches cut back by around a third!

Spent a large part of the morning bringing up all the logs which have been in the garage for the last year or two. I know what will happen now - the temperature will rise, we'll have weeks of rain, and we won't need to light the wood stove!

This afternoon I took all the poor half-frozen succulents from their temporary home on the spare bedroom floor and put them down in the garage beside the one window. This should give them some protection - I just wish that I'd done it three days ago! I shall be mad if I lose some of the special ones!

Still no snow here, though the mountains of Mull seem to have had a further dressing over the last day or two!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.