Elementree

I have posted a picture of our faithful artificial tree that my wife has decorated in readiness for the Christmas festivities. 

She does a good job, and has a bit of flair when it comes to such matters. I wouldn't bother. It all seems a lot of fuss, and taking it down again is always disornamenting!

A long day today, off to a rollicking start when the boiler broke down so we have no heating. No hot water. And it's only - 8c. I called the emergency breakdown cover guys and they took half an hour to answer, and were clearly concerned because we got an emergency appointment for next Monday.  I think the kettle and the log burning stove will earn their keep this weekend!

I had to get some more silicon sealant for Gary who is pressing on with window replacements. It was alarming to find that the large dining room window and smaller bathroom window were not actually fixed in and were secured by temporary wedges and sealant! Much better now the boss is on the job. Now it's being done properly. This house better learn to be grateful, it's costing my kids their inheritance! 

The house that Jack built will soon be the house that Gary put back together again.

Then there was the sixty mile return journey to my wife's aged parents, diversions to pick up their prescriptions and back home at 17.30.

As I say a long day. But it's OK, there's always tea. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.