Flossmo

By Flossmo

Where the hearth is

It was -5 this morning as I defrosted the car ready to drive over to the studio. I had placed a piece of foam wrapping across the windscreen and that had helped a lot but even so the side windows and wing mirrors needed scraping. By the time I got in the car I couldn't feel my fingers - note to self remember to wear gloves next time. 

The drive over the Hog's Back was very beautiful: the lower ground towards Woking was white and misty. I nearly stopped for a blip but then decided against as I would have had to join the fast moving traffic in the icy conditions.  

The heating in the studio was very limited and I was glad of my two sweaters but sorry that I hadn't put on two pairs of socks. The tea and chat was good, however, and I made some progress with a linoprint. 

The drive home was slow with a lot of Friday afternoon traffic heading south. The sunset was one of the most magnificent I have seen in a while - a dark orange at the horizon and a burgundy pink above. I would have stopped my car for a photograph but would have had to join the fast moving traffic etc etc.

Fortunately I did take a photograph of one of the tableaux that have been arranged around the foyer in the centre where we have our studio. I love the way the work of the adults with learning disabilities has been incorporated into the 'fireplace'.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.