Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Made it!

It snowed last night - first snow we’ve had so far - and I felt slightly doomed after a night of very broken sleep, but the forecast looked less dire than it had and I’d found a useful web cam on the M8 at Shotts, which meant that as day broke I could see road conditions. Our trip was on.

Got away on the 2pm ferry (turned out to be en unexpectedly bumpy crossing) and arrived at no 1 son’s house about 4.30. Two hours later we were in St Mary’s Cathedral, packed to the side aisles for the ESMS Service of Nine Lessons and Carols. It was great - big mixed voice  choirs, a chamber orchestra, some brass, and the organ giving it laldy. I sang my head off in the congregational bits, much to my older granddaughter’s horror, but her wee sister was in the front row of the choir. I was just delighted to see them having a chance to  do a proper service like this - even if the silence at the end where there should have been a resounding “Amen!”was disconcerting.

We’re here tonight; home in the morning. We have our carols yet …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.