Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Twinned with Mordor?

I've pinched that good idea from my friend Sarah on the string of photos I posted online from our drive home from Edinburgh today - you can see from the collage above that we left the east on a sunny morning and arrived back in the west to sleet, rain, lowering clouds, rainbows and snowy hills. We often find we're driving west into cloud, and the link with Mordor is all too apt for our town in terms of attracting gloom. Actually sunny Edinburgh was a tad lethal this morning - I missed seeing the moment when my daughter in law was leaving the house with Po the collie for his early walk and was only saved from disaster herself by observing the dog go flying down the icy path, all four feet splayed, to fetch up with a crash against the gate.  Much brushing and salting ensued, so that by the time we were leaving with our bags we were spared any drama.

On the drive home, we were discussing how great it had been to see and hear all these secondary school pupils taking part, with complete attention and seriousness, in such a famous service in such a building. We know, both of us, how much preparation has to go into such things, and the importance of attending to every detail. It is also great when a huge building like St Mary's is packed by parents and siblings, all there to support their children and taking part themselves - every teacher knows what a difference parental support makes to every child. 

We flew into action of our own when we got home. Stopping only to consume the soup that our daughter-in-law had sent us off with in a bag, Himself went off to the freezing church to practise for tomorrow; I went back to Mackay's (of the Closing Down Sale) and bought a brushed cotton duvet set, having realised in Edinburgh what a difference it made in a chilly room. I also picked up a pair of Jeggings to replace the current pair when they go through on the knees (I feel I'm past the ripped look, me). Then I unpacked all our stuff, remade our bed, caught up with the mail, wrote a few cards (I know, I know) ... and then was delighted to be able to put our dinner straight into the oven to reheat, courtesy again of my daughter-in-law, who'd provided enchiladas, salsa, Doritos, chocolate fruit cake ...

Last but by no means least, take a gander at my extra. A proud mum moment - and a tome that would take a lifetime to read. Me, I'll just settle for that entry at the bottom of a page in the middle ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.