Still iced in

We were beginning to run low on certain fresh food so I set off for the village in the wind and sleet with my sturdy shopping trolley. The roads were quite clear but the passing places still had a thick layer of ice. We are fortunate that the village shop opens for a couple of hours on a Sunday when people home in on it so it’s also a good time to catch up socially. While I was chatting outside the shop, J our neighbour pulled up in his car. He had manage to chip away enough ice to get his car the short distance to the road from where he had parked it. He knew I had gone shopping so came to pick me up which was very kind of him. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by great neighbours who all look out for each other.
As I sit here writing my blip I can see our outdoor Christmas lights looking very pretty as they blow gently in the breeze which is due to increase in strength as the night goes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.