pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Christmas Curry Club - Episode Two

I was reflecting recently on how much life has moved on in the last 12 months.

From a pandemic with seemingly endless days with nothing to fill them, to now with endless things to do and not enough time to do them. That’s my excuse for letting my commitment to blip waver recently anyway.

One thing I was committed to and which is fast becoming one of my favourite nights of the year is the family Christmas Curry Club. Upon the children’s insistence, we returned to the same place as last year (Mumbai in Kendal) and had some great food with the girls splitting a tikka massala and m’boy’s buttered chicken respectively. I think mine was a peppy murgh massala, which was delicious.

We caught up on our gossip and reviewed our year, it was unanimously decided that a weekend trip to Center Parcs earlier this year to celebrate my mum’s birthday, had been the highlight. Paddle boarding and our recent trip to go ice skating also featured highly, so a tip of the hat to LadyV for getting us involved in all that!

It was a lovely evening and as ever, I remain dumbfounded as what I did in a previous life to be rewarded with three brilliant children who were an absolute pleasure to take out. 

The manager was very sweet and as we were leaving offered round a box of Roses - Matty was struggling with her choice, so the manager let her have two. M’boy was outraged at this slight and asked her as we walked home: “how come you got two?!”

She didn’t miss a beat when she replied “Because I’m cute”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.