pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Wide Church Wednesday

I had been looking forward to today as it was the children’s carol concert at the Parish Church (the one with the wideness I’ve previously referenced).

M’boy was one of the chosen few to do a little reading and met the challenge with great aplomb, whilst The Youngest belted out the numbers with her little chums throughout the service. The church (so much width) had been decked out nicely with a number of Christmas trees (well, what else would you do with all that width?) and the female vicar (thought that only happened in sitcoms – what is HAPPENING in this world?!) was very nice, but wasted no time in seizing the opportunity to try and save our souls by attempting to indoctrinate us all into her cult. Too late, sister/vicar: that ship has loooong since sailed. 

Many years ago, I mentioned to a regular church goer that I always felt overwhelmed with guilt when I went into a church. In that case, he told me, I was probably a catholic.

There wasn’t really the opportunity to take a photo of just my children, so I kept my phone firmly in my pocket and tried to be in the moment instead, waving and pulling silly faces at my own children, whilst enjoying watching the teaching assistant’s coral the rest of them as boredom set in and they started to muck around – the children, not the TAs.

The rest of the day was work blah-blah before the wee ones came around for tea and cuddles. For a moment, I thought I would have nothing pertinent to the day to blip, but then The Youngest gave me this Christmas card which she had made me and saved the day.

I love the fact that she has signed it off as “Matty”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.