isbiJG

By isbiJG

Witchetty Grub

Witchetty Grubs are the larval stage of various species of moth. They are common but as they are underground (usually under a stump as this one was), you don’t see them very often. It’s about the size of my thumb which I should have held in the shot for comparison.
Strictly speaking they feed on the Witchetty Bush in the Northern Territory but the term now covers various similar species of moth.
They are known mainly as a common dietary staple of Aboriginal Australians and in remote communities, they’re probably still cooked and consumed regularly.
My parents took a couple of us on an adventurous trip to the NT in 1959 and when offered some Witchetty Grub they respectfully accepted and I had a taste. I can’t remember what it was like but when isbi offered me the choice of WG or ham steak for dinner tonight, I opted for the ham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.