Snow, ruins and a landslide

I had an unexpected trip today to Tarbet on Loch Lomond. Daughter Two was coming over by train from Edinburgh for Christmas, but yesterday there was a landslide near Falls of Cruachan station which continued down to the road, closing both. There was no decision this morning about a rail replacement bus, although that did come later, too late to prevent me from driving over. The road closure necessitated a detour via Lochgilphead, a 170 mile return trip, which didn’t start off too well as I came up behind three lorries trundling along at 40mph for more than twenty miles! When I arrived at the station there were buses waiting, and in spite of stopping several times for a photographs - and a cuppa -  we arrived back in Oban at the same time, the bus having detoured through Glencoe.

I haven’t been along that road for a while, so it was good to see the mountains topped with what remains of the snow. On the way down the Rest and Be Thankful hill pass I spotted a good Blip opportunity, so on the way back I stopped in a forestry entrance and walked down the road to take a picture or two. I’ve been watching this old cottage deteriorate for maybe 50 years - they take some knocking down! The mountain in the background is Beinn Ime. ScotRail isn’t doing too well just now, with strike action and a landslide!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.