Day 15 in the hospital

This is a late posting.

Another uncomfortable night in the hospital, although Mum was reasonably peaceful. We ate our porridge, which was delicious, then Mr MacD went to get us some coffee.

I’d had to call for assistance twice, once before we settled down for the night and again in the morning.  Because Mum’s ability to swallow is minimal, there is a build up of mucus.  She is on a stomach drip to help with that, but it doesn’t eliminate it entirely.  The nurses are very good and swab out her mouth and even suction it at times.

We’d given my sister and brother the day off, so they didn’t come in until 3:30pm.  I left at 4:45pm to catch the bus to Auckland Joggers, as we wanted to attend the last Tuesday evening walk.  Two of our group were away, but it was lovely to see and chat to the others.  Afterwards we had tea and mince pies, followed by ham, salad and rolls, and also barbecued sausages if one wished.  It was a very convivial evening.

Unfortunately, I discovered that two weeks of sitting and sleeping on uncomfortable chairs, not attending Pilates classes, not walking every day and not doing the fast walks with our Joggers group on a Tuesday night have taken their toll.  My back wasn’t happy and my leg was slightly painful. Am hoping, selfishly, this doesn’t continue for two much longer.

I went out at lunchtime to buy a couple of sandwiches for our lunch.  The sky was blue and the sun was shining.  I notice the entrances to the Domain and took a couple of photos for my blip.  Information on the entrances:
http://wikimapia.org/15236630/Elliot-Memorial-Gates
https://www.flickr.com/photos/porkynz/19988755805

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.