pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Coronated

It was my final day of work before a Christmas break today and it fell nicely, coinciding with a team meeting/lunch at the Bolton Whites stadium.

The meeting went well, lunch was ok and it was nice to see the team before we all went our separate ways for a couple of weeks. 

With a cynicism earned through age, parenthood and a career in insurance, it takes a lot to surprise me these days, but I must confess that my boss did it when he presented me with a bottle of plonk and a glass trophy coronating me as “2022 Star Employee of the Year”! 

It was nice to to have the blood, sweat, tears and sleepless nights of the past 12 months acknowledged and I have never won anything like this before, so being able to celebrate with my immediate team was a very nice way to sign off. One of my colleagues, already sensing my imposter syndrome kicking in told me “you just won employee of the year, have a little more confidence in yourself.” Maybe I should?

I was also pleased to see my colleague and former work wife win the “Unsung Hero” award - recognition of her efforts are long overdue.

The rest of the day passed without incident and I was able to sign off and collapse under the weight of a celebratory steak n chips, followed by a cheesecake and all accompanied by a glass of red.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.