Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Winter Solstice

For the northern half of Earth, the Northern Hemisphere, the Winter Solstice is on December 21 or 22. It's the day with the shortest hours of sunlight in the year. So the shortest day of the year. However, the good news is that after today, the days, very slowly, get longer! Isn't that great news!


Last night, before going to bed, I climbed up on a chair and hung my six crocheted snowflakes against two of my windows. My plan was to take photos first thing this morning just as the sky was getting light. It's a tricky thing to do because I have another building bang in my face from all my windows, so I had to angle my camera to one side between the building in front and a glass separation at the end of my balcony and then crop the result! I like how the representation of darkness and light meet each other, on the diagonal!


I was thrilled to get some bokeh lighting from some lights coming on in houses on the other side of the road.


So Happy Winter Solstice to you all and let's celebrate our days getting longer again too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.