Deadbeat

Very relaxed and lethargic after yesterday's ball work, so a lazy day and a backblip from Sunday's organ recital (which I happen to be listening to currently).
 
Noone else is in..
 
--------------------------------------------

Sat in my usual area towards the back of the Quire I today noticed this pew cushion at my feet embroidered with WRVS (Women's Royal Volunteer Service). Formed in 1938 as the Women’s Voluntary Services for Air Raid Precautions, they acted as a lookout for air raids in readiness for WWII. It was known as WVS prior and currently is just the RVS. It’s current mission is to help communities and the NHS. They can sometimes be seen as volunteer receptionists in hospitals.
 
My beloved paternal Grandma was a WRVS volunteer who helped out at a nursing home in Ealing, so gives me warm memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.