This is the day

By wrencottage

Winter Solstice

It’s been a day of batch cooking ready for Christmas, with the anticipation of enjoying having some of the family come to us for Christmas Day and Boxing Day.

When we moved into our house many years ago, on 22nd December, this Christmas tree was one of the first things I unpacked and put up! I had always planned that this full length window would be an ideal place to put a Christmas tree so that it would be visible to passers by.

Like most people I don’t really enjoy the dark afternoons all that much, so the fairy lights around the house, both on the Christmas trees and on garlands round the bannisters, help to banish the gloom of mid winter. 



The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. 
John 1:5

Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.