This is the day

By wrencottage

Shortest Day Garden Collage

It’s been a day spent finishing off Christmas presents. I had wrapped all ours, but still needed to make some pretty gift tags. I thought that was the final task, but I failed to allow for the fact that The Traveller had brought back some Christmas presents from abroad for his tiny nieces which, of course, he nonchalantly handed to his mother this morning for a) wrapping and b) providing suitable gift tags. 

The present wrapping and gift tag making are all now finished, and Smithers has been a hero and made a batch of granola to top up our seriously low supplies, followed by making a delicious roasted vegetable risotto for supper.

My only other activity today was to pop out into the garden before lunch to see what the shortest day (in the northern hemisphere) could produce that might be blip-worthy. Surprisingly, quite a bit!

I’m amazed that the ancient holly tree is still weighed down with plump red berries. I’m expecting those branches to be stripped bare any day now when the redwings arrive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.