This is the day

By wrencottage

Memory Lane

Or, more accurately, Rectory Lane. This morning I drove Smithers to the dentist’s in Loughton for his emergency crown fitting appointment and had about 40 minutes to wait, so I decided to go for a walk in the locality rather than sit in the waiting room.

Our dentist, to whom we’ve been going ever since we moved to the area from north London in 1971, is very close to a large council estate which is served by a rather drab shopping street, a further education college, health centre and a tube station.

However, just a short distance from the dentist’s premises are two historic buildings and, as I peered through the ivy and laurel-covered bank beside the footpath, my mind went back fifty years. You see, my first job after I married Smithers in 1971 was at the East 15 Acting School and Corbett Theatre in Rectory Lane. The acting school was based in a grade II listed house called Hatfields, which was built in 1799, and was run by its founder, Margaret Walker (then Bury) who had joined Joan Littlewood’s Theatre Workshop in 1946 and worked with her for 14 years until starting the East 15 Acting School in 1961. 

Ten years later I started working there as a secretary and my office was behind the window over the front door. I remember one memorable occasion when I was alarmed to hear what sounded like a massive demonstration taking place, voices yelling, all kinds of mayhem going on. When I looked out of the window I saw a large crowd of students approaching menacingly down the drive towards the building. It took me quite a while to calm down and realise that they were simply doing an exercise with their tutor!

Students had the benefit of being taught at the beautiful Corbett Theatre in the grounds, which was built inside a medieval tithe barn, and where they put on performances for the local people to enjoy. The names of three students come to mind who I remember from my time there;  Annette Badland, Janine Duvitski and Kevin Lloyd.

Next door to Hatfields is Loughton Hall. There was a timber manor house on the site in the 16th century or earlier, and Loughton Hall was owned by Mary Tudor before she became queen in 1553. It has had many royal and illustrious visitors. It burnt down in a fire in 1836 and the current building was commissioned by Reverend J. W. Maitland in 1878. In 1944 the house and estate were sold to the London County Council, which built the current council estate on the surrounding land and gave the Hall over to community use. When I worked next door it was a community and sports centre and it is now an old people’s home.

I make no apologies for this rather long blip today. I was so delighted to be able to get out of the house after quite a prolonged period of inactivity indoors that I revelled in being out in the fresh air (albeit wearing a mask because I’m still coughing). I have also enjoyed writing this little summary of the local history so that I can refer back to it in my blip journal.

There are quite a few extras because I have plenty left to use up, but I appreciate that most people will be far too busy at this time of year to look through them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.