Dusk falls on the shortest day

We've been busy sorting out bedrooms and doing housework, in anticipation  of the arrival of guests who are coming for Christmas.
I've  decided a very thorough  and ruthless declutter is called for in the new year... 

We needed a break this afternoon and we went for a local walk just before dusk. I took just  two  photos and it was only later I discovered  the WideWed theme was Skyline, so I think this will do.
As we walked through the residential area, we came across a bush  full of chattering house sparrows. Next, we encountered  a small tree in whose higher branches a charm of goldfinches were  perched, all singing their cheerful song.  Finally, we passed a couple of much bigger trees which were fast filling up with dozens of starlings, all flying into roost,  and whistling to eachother  on arrival.  
It made me feel  so glad  we had made the effort to get out, if only briefly, on the shortest day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.