A Wealth of Waxwings

Entertainment on the way to the library--this wonderful constantly moving flock of crested birds, stuffing themselves with ripe persimmons from the neighbor's tree. I got a glimpse of thin red bars on their wings, but I had only my phone as a tool and couldn't get close enough fast enough. But how thrilling to see the red with the yellow, and their charming hairdos. 

We continued on a bunch of food errands -- one store didn't have any eggs or salted butter, another was pretty low on bread, the price of lettuce is through the roof.  I can't keep track of what's happening in the world. 

I've started to mix the dough for panettone. Have to wait til tomorrow to see if it rises.

Ive also decided to make a Polish menu for Christmas Eve. Pierogi, barley, sauerkraut. It's not to everyone's liking, but Mr S is happy to oblige and I get to indulge in something from my childhood, tastes that evoke a gentler time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.