Ewan is Nine

A discombobulating kind of day; it feels like a Saturday but is only Friday. It also feels a little bit like Christmas Eve with the mild panic that seems to be engendered throughout the land when we realise shops will be shut for a whole day.

There was an early phone call to Glasgow where Ewan is celebrating his ninth birthday. The poor lad gets all his year’s presents in two days. We discussed the significance of his last birthday in single digits  and also the last number to have a square root until he is 16, as you do! I will see him before then but not until the new Year because they head south tomorrow for Christmas near Bath.

Moi? I am heading nowhere very far removed from the Dower House. I have rarely strayed from home at Christmas and certainly never when the children were younger. 
Latterly, HL and I spent 2 Christmases abroad and it felt strange on both occasions to  celebrate under a hot sun with no family members present.

I have a list of things to do before Boxing Day and the family get together but I am managing to convince myself it’s too early to start. Meanwhile I have TGIF drinkies with 3 neighbours at 4pm . Let the weekend begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.