Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

The East Window

Back to St Bartholomew's Nettlebed to retrieve my book. It was exactly where I left it. 

If anything it was even gloomier than yesterday but I photographed the east window anyway. Its another John Piper design and, as with yesterday's south window, was made by the master of stained glass Patrick Reyntiens. The window commemorates Dr Robin Williamson, a local doctor and friend of John Piper. The left hand light depicts shoals of fish, an early Christian symbol. In the centre is the tree of life with seven fruits (I guess these are pomegranates). The right hand light is, of course, my favourite with its caterpillar, chrysalis and imago symbolising  life, death and resurrection. Piper later designed another version of this window in memory of his friend the poet Sir John Betjeman. That window is at All Saints in Farnborough. I hope to visit that one sometime next year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.