Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Emergency Room

During night, increasingly felt unwell & pains started in my upper left arm. Did manage the morning animal routines & walking Luna, but only just. I guess I started to panic a bit - no pains in the chest, but those arm pains? And the short of breath? And all alone at home with no neighbours?

Finally, thought I must take myself off to our local small hospital in Ottobeuren. Saturday afternoon, fewer staff.... this is going to be fun. After a lengthy COVID connected set of form filling was sent to wait in the corridor outside A&E. Nobody else waiting,but seemed to be one or two rooms with patients being looked at.

It wasn't long though before called in by a nurse who I explained my symptoms to & what had happened the day before at GP. Urine sample given, then onto bed, had needle put in place as a precaution, blood sample taken & an ECG.  Then had to wait for doctor to deal with another patient in adjoing room.

When she came, wanted my whole history & thus understandably did a ultrasound of my kidneys (I had warned her about the stones) & bladder. Bit by bit the results of urine & blood samples started coming in. Bladder infection confirmed but most blood values looked OK. While waiting, she thankfully gave me a litre of salt solution, something I can always use with my chronic lack of liquids.

Eventually all the results came in - a bit anaemic but otherwise nothing obviously wrong. Doc said I should stay in hospital for at least the night for observation, but she also agreed with me when I said it wasn't possible as I was the only one at home to care for all the animals.

Left with enough antibiotics to get me through till Monday & I can get to GP for a proper 10-day prescription. I think, as I walked to the car, I already felt very well!

And for those who may want to know - this service is all part of standard German NHS. Didn't pay a penny. This small hospital is run by the county council. Others are run by Universities, others by private companies, but are all in the NHS system and are free of charge. Germans are free to choose the hospital they want to be treated in, as they are consultants and indeed GP - they can be anywhere in Germany. Doesn't make much sense going to A&E in Hamburg, in today's case!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.