KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Christmas Baking

Wet walk gave 'hood hair'.
Looney Tunes boy bakes cup cakes.
First holiday day.

First day off school today, it was really rather on the soggy side.  It's good that it's warmer but the rain does make everything tricky.  We went for a walk this morning and got drenched. We had our hoods up and all ended up with a lovely matted mess of hair, as demonstrated by Ben in this photo (although he wasn't alone..) I bought a spinach and ricotta quiche from a market stall in town which seemed like a very good idea but when we got home I realised it had a turmeric pastry base.  That was a bit interesting and not entirely in a good way :-/
After lunch Ben and I made cup cakes.  This was to make amends for the ones he made in food tech yesterday at school, which were so full of sugar they were actually crystallised and solid when he brought them home.  I think it was the icing they had added, I know I can be the sugar police sometimes.. but really it was ridiculous.  So Ben and I agreed that we would bin those ones but make our own today.  He does love a bit of baking.
That's been mostly it today, we had a quick trip out to the post office, where Ben took great delight in introducing the post office man to Mr KCNQ2Haiku.  Ben is definitely well known in the community, since he introduces himself to everybody.  It does mean you can't slip under the radar anywhere, every grocery trip is like a social engagement :-/
I can't believe it's Christmas Eve tomorrow, although I bet everyone is saying that.  Ben is very excited but he's super ready to know what his presents will be now.  He's asked for four specific presents, so he knows that he has certainty about having those things but he keeps asking for me to tell him about everything else.  It's a hard balance because obviously I could tell him and reduce his anxiety but he also really loves Christmas morning and the surprises.. so we sort of can't win!  Is that just parenting in a nutshell??! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.