Fawn in a Snowstorm

And then it snowed, and it snowed, and it snowed. By the time it was done, we had about eight inches of new snow. Late in the afternoon, it turned to ice and sleet and rain. What a mess! We knew that temperatures would drop dramatically at some point, and everything would freeze up solid. So several times throughout the day, my husband and I went out and shoveled while the snow was still light and fluffy and easy to remove.

But in the morning, before all of the shoveling and the mess that it turned into, it was just snow, glorious snow, flying thick and fast. And so out I went for a walk, up Tow Hill with my umbrella. I looked down Uni Lane, snapped a photo, and thought, Hmm, that looks like a deer!

And it was! As I looked more closely, I believed it to be a young deer, possibly our remaining fawn from summertime. It was alone (no cat to accompany it, not today), but a hundred yards or so up the hill, I came upon a whole herd of deer. I hope that this one meets up with the others and becomes a part of the Tow Hill herd. One can only hope!

My soundtrack song is this one: U2, with White as Snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.