A day in the life

By Shelling

New path.

This time, last year, I was in the process of moving, mentally, at least. I had accepted my new flat but hadn't yet started to prepare for moving to it, so I was living in a sort of in-between-land of uncertainty, thrill and anxiety. My new place was still being painted and fixed up and my old place was all working, full of good memories. I knew I'd made the right decision but I usually end up in turbulence when making fundamental change. I don't like uncertainty and losing control, I'm ashamed to admit.

Today I see things differently and love my new home, where I can stay as long as I like. I've been rehearsing a bit in the morning but after lunch I really felt I had to go for a longish walk to get some blood flowing. I went a little further than I normal along one of my walks and found a new path that I haven't seen before because it was hidden behind a heap of soil. There's so much farmland around here, you can only guess what the forest once could have looked like. Certainly it must have been more in one piece than todays groves implies, even though during bronze-age this was also valuable farmland and one of the major farms, or small kingdom, was perhaps situated right here. I found myself on a hill in the grove I was walking in and suddenly felt the presence of age around me. This is certainly old soil and one of the reasons I like being and staying here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.