Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Dashing through the snow

We've had a massive ice storm with temperatures in the teens (F) and sleet, freezing rain, and granules of ice that pack down into a hard, thin layer of slick trickery. A few warming centers were opened for houseless people, but I fear for those who couldn't or didn't go inside. Offices were closed, most stores were closed, schools of course were closed anyway for the holidays. I saw this person braving the elements to get their last-minute shopping done. 

I spent the day inside my warm, dry, safe apartment, feeling gratitude. I am reading Sister Helen Prejean's memoir and recuperating from an exhausting month. It proved a good time to file and delete photos, to bake apples, and to be still. I wish everyone had such good fortune.

I think the worst is over. Temperatures are warming, ice is starting to melt. Now it's up to 26F/-3C, and it should continue warming through the night. By tomorrow morning it should be 37F/3C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.