Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Iced in on Christmas Eve

The ice didn't melt as had been predicted. 

It remained at or below freezing all day, cars and pedestrians slip-sliding on ice, more freezing rain falling. Luckily our electric grid hasn't failed, so I'm personally very fortunate to be indoors and warm. Finally, now, in the dark, a thaw has begun. Our plan had been for me to take public transport to Sue's house today and have a festive dinner together tonight. Instead, I'm still at my place, gazing down on a world dusted with ice granules. Our weather is less frightening than that on the east coast, where much of the power grid collapsed and many cities have floods.

If the melt continues, Seth will collect me in the morning and take me to his house for a few hours of gift-exchange and Cristina's home-made tamales. Then perhaps I'll get to Sue's for our delayed celebration. She might be having part of her family over for brunch while I'm at Seth's...or not, depending on the roads. I watch the weather debacle and wonder what lies ahead for the grandchildren. It's deeply worrying.

That aside, may we all have ease of well-being, health, peace of heart, and the energy to be of use to others. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.