That One Star

From Darkling:

The stars remind me to dethrone myself. They remind me that it is not about me. They remind me that I am nothing unless I am part of something. This is deeply counter/cultural. Society these days tells us that absolute significance is found in the self. Individualism - along with the other isms: capitalism, consumerism, materialism - is the dominant narrative of our age. The stars lead us away from that.

And then there is that one star in particular. The star of Bethlehem. The Christ-portent. And what is Christ? Selflessness. Inclusion. Interconnectedness. The great something that we are part of.

Gratefuls:
- in a very family oriented society, being totally welcomed into Ermelinda and Cecílio's family for their most family event of the year: their Christmas Eve meal, which I need to get ready for!
- all the folk wishing us "Boas Festas" as we walked to market this morning
- our family being all together at Deb and Sam's: some still quite ill, but together

Wishing for all my Blip friends a Christmas where you feel included and connected, here on Blip, if nowhere else. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.