Merry Christmas from Brisbane Australia...

This is how my morning went...
4:30am Alarm - because I need to get the Croissants out of the freezer and put on a tray so the prove while we are out... I cut off a chunk of ham off the half leg ham my bestie brought for the family... Got the ingredients out to make the glaze to baste over the ham while it's in the oven... Get the good dinner set out... Shower, dress, make coffee in travel mug, grab bag and out the door by 6am...

6:20am we're at Zillmere parkrun for our Christmas Day event, it's actually the closest parkrun to our home and the only "Z" in Australia... 7am start on time, son Ruben is running and I'm volunteering on finish tokens... It's a 2 lap course on grass fields... Ruben crossed the finish line to claim #001 in 19:59 and there was 45 participants...

8:10am we've stayed at Zillmere parkrun because my friend Erica (3rd from left) just completed her 7th consecutive Christmas day marathon (it's her personal event) she starts on Christmas eve and runs all over the place to get to a Christmas parkrun event and uses it as the last 5km of her marathon... Awesome achievement on her part and her friend Ryan who follows her around in his car and gives her drinks and food as she goes... Added this year was she got to open a gift after every km... At the end of parkrun she had 5 gifts to open and she hoped there was another shoe amongst them... haha... it was so funny...

We stopped to have iced frappes on the way home because it was humid and hot...

9:45am finally home and I quickly put them in the oven to bake for 30 mins, basting every 10 mins, I take it out and bake off the Croissants... A bit later than originally planned but at 10:45am we're sitting down to freshly baked Croissants with hot baked Leg Ham and some sliced cheese and orange juice, I'm keeping the bubbles for later (because I've gotta go out and meet Margaret for a walk at 2pm)...

When I get back I then have to start and prepare tonights meal for 4:30pm or a little later...

Merry Christmas to you all from across the Pond...

PS - 49th parkrun volunteer this morning for the year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.