Christmas Day

With all of us together for the afternoon and early evening, plus Erin (Richard's niece) and Claire (a friend from round the corner), the house was buzzing.
Richard, as ever, was chef. He likes doing it, and manages to stay on top of the roast dinner timings better than anyone else I know. My job is usually the puddings, using a recipe of my paternal grandmother's; to judge from some of the terms used in it, it dates back to Victorian times.
As a substitute for cream or custard - which Luca can't eat - I made a fruit sauce for the pudding with defrosted mulberries, cherries and plums from our garden and Jack's. This worked better than I expected, and will be a good bet for other occasions. I love that little reminder of summer, in the depths of winter. 
We had a lovely, relaxed time together, and I know we're very lucky in that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.