lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

An odd pair

Today I dragged Nick into London and specifically to St James's Park to see the ducks. I spent so long looking at these two that he retired to a bench to play with his phone. Then we got ice creams which cheered him up. The light wasn't great but I think some of the photos still came out ok.

The duck in the foreground is a male wood duck and the duck behind it is a male Mandarin duck. If I hadn't known they were the males of different species, I would have thought they were a couple. They seemed very close. But they are apparently quite closely related species. I guess these two are probably just good friends. Mandarin ducks are very beautiful.

In other news, they seem to have more pelicans - on previous visits I've never seen more than four but today they had six! They'd just finished feeding them so we got a good look.

It rained. I dragged Nick around a few shops. We walked through Embankment Gardens and across the river to Waterloo. We went home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.