With rain forecast for today and tomorrow I decided to leave for home this morning.

My first and planned stop was at Booths in Settle for some groceries. When I returned to the car I found a dog had parked next to me :)

Having sat in a tailback of traffic approaching the M6/Kendal bypass roundabout I decided to take the earlier turning and go through Kendal town centre. I don’t know if it was the right decision but at least I was moving.

A few miles south of Windermere the traffic slowed again so I had a second and unplanned stop at another branch of Booths for a refreshment break (cappuccino and chocolate brownie). Turned out that traffic lights not far from there were the cause but the radio traffic news hadn’t mentioned that. The traffic jam could have been all the way to Ambleside!

Fortunately the bad weather that was forecast for much of the journey didn’t come until I was past Kendal.

The house was cold. The central heating has been running non-stop since I got in and there’s a hot water bottle in the bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.