Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Becoming A Member

I paid my annual membership today to have access any day to this beautiful place which has enthralled me since the first time I saw it.

This weekend our local newspaper described Lowther Castle as a "sleeping giant" which could become one of the counties biggest tourist attractions. £9 million in grants have been ploughed into the restoration of the castle and 130 acre garden.

One of the reasons I have such a feeling for the place is probably because the Yellow Earl, Hugh Lowther, 5th Earl of Lonsdale (donater of the original Lonsdale Belt for boxing) built a house for my great grandfather who was his head gardener in his Whitehaven Castle.

I long for a nice day when I can explore the gardens, I last saw them 4 years ago when the overgrown gardens were opened for the first time in 30 years for one weekend only.

A great day which began at midnight with me trying to keep up through the night with encouragement on Twitter for katkatkat and her partner doing the London MoonWalk. They completed the marathon at 6.30am. Well Done Kat & Greig!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.