A nighttime intruder

Apologies to all the lovely blippers who have been visiting my journal.  Life is a bit fraught at the moment, so if I am a bit behind with replying to comments and visiting your journals, please be patient.  I will catch up as soon as I can.

Today I drafted up a death notice for the Funeral Director and sent it to her as well as a full list of the names of Mum’s three children, their partners, their children and their grandchildren, as well as sending a detailed email to the organist.  Progress is being made.

We had a good day on the calendar trail, managing to deliver a large pile. We didn’t return home for lunch, which takes a chunk out of the day.  Instead, we had lunch and coffee at a lovely little independent café in Remuera.

During the night I felt something on my foot, gave it a kick, jumped out of bed and put my phone light on.  I couldn’t see anything on the floor, or in the bed.  I just assumed it was a spider that had lost its way.  Some time later MrMacD jumped out of bed, threw back the bedclothes and there it was - horror of horrors, a cockroach.  MrMacD managed to catch it, throw it in the toilet and flush it away.  It took some time to get back to sleep after that.  We have no idea where it suddenly appeared from.  Now we’re hoping the same thing doesn’t happen tonight.

After supper we went over to Mum’s apartment to clean out the fridge and kitchen food cupboards, as it’s our rubbish and recycling collection in the morning.  Any unopened cans and packets will be donated to a community food bank.  It was a bit traumatic and I did shed a few tears.  

While we were driving around Remuera today we spotted this wonderful letterbox.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.