After the Storm

The temperatures rose above zero but the sun didn't make an appearance until almost sunset. It was one of those grey days when one does not feel motivated to get out there and do exciting things...a day better suited to tackling indoor chores. I spent it trying to sort out my kitchen and rearrange shelves and cupboards to make things more accessible...something I had been meaning to do for ages..It was a good idea, but I think would have worked better if I had actually thrown something out! 

My sister up north spent her day shovelling out...her car, doorways and part of her driveway to make it accessible for the hired snow removal folks who arrived hours late and then blew the snow up onto her shed roof which she then had to remove...with her new roof-rake..(which now seems like a wise purchase.) A day cleaning cupboards  was looking pretty good in comparison.

But the day ended with a bang - or at least a bit of fireworks...a lovely golden sunset; so, for the first time all day, I bundled up and actually went outside (and down to the lake, of course) for the pre-sunset...which I loved... the sunlight reflecting on the ice that coated everything...the gulls lined up on the fence looking across the lake, watching the sunset..perhaps grateful that they were on this side of the lake....

I probably should have stayed a bit longer because after I got home, the yellows and golds of that sky morphed into fabulous deep reds, pinks and purples...An absolutely stunning sky... perhaps Mother Nature's apology for all the havoc of the last few days? 

No matter, my golden sunset photos made me very very happy! There will be many more opportunities for fiery red and pink ones

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.